ICTM Scholarships

The Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics will be presenting its annual Scholarships in Mathematics Education in October of each year.  ICTM has been awarding Scholarships to students since 1989.  You can see a list of past winners here.

There will be a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 5 awards granted of $1,500 to help defray educational expenses of the recipients.

You can help ensure that these scholarship are available for future generations by donating to the scholarship fund.

Donate to the Scholarship Fund

To Apply for a Scholarship

To be eligible, a student must:

  1. Be enrolled as a junior or senior in an accredited university or college in Illinois during Spring 2020 with a graduation during May 2020 or later.
  2. Be working on his/her first bachelor’s degree with an intent to teach in Illinois upon graduation.
  3. Be a mathematics education major, a mathematics major with an education minor, or an education major with an official mathematics emphasis.
  4. Have a total over all GPA of at least 3.00 from all colleges attended (based on 4.00).
  5. Submit hard or digital copies of the following:
    1. A completed ICTM scholarship application form which you can type directly in the PDF form below and then print out for mailing. The application includes:
      1. Applicant information as requested
      2. Two 200-300 word essays as described below
      3. A complete lesson planning form as described below
    2. Transcripts from ALL COLLEGES ATTENDED.
    3. Letters of recommendation from two mathematics teachers, high school or college. These letters must state the capacity in which the writer knew the applicant and address his/her potential as a mathematics teacher. (You may compile PDFs of your signed letters of recommendation with the rest of your application materials to be emailed to [email protected]. If those writing the recommendation prefer, they may email their letters separately from the rest of your application.)
    4. Some verification of your designated status and major (e.g. letter from advisor, copy of registration materials, etc.)

You may download and complete the 2019-2020 fillable PDF version of the application here. If preferred, here is a word document version. Directions for where to mail the completed application packet are included in the application.  You can also see the evaluation rubric hereCompleted applications need to be e-mailed or postmarked by May 9, 2020.  Winners will be contacted in September 2020.

The 2019 Scholarship Awardees were:

 Cerys Boston

Cerys Boston - Eastern Illinois University

Cerys Boston grew up in rural Ashland, IL and attended Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, IL. There, she studied Elementary Education and Middle Level Mathematica, Language Arts, and Social Studies. She plans to teach 5th grade in Paris, IL beginning August 2019. In the summers and in her free time, she runs the Summer Youth Programs for Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site. Cerys credits her love of math and teaching math to her high school calculus teacher and her professors at EIU who guided her to understand math in a completely new way.


Ryan Dela Cruz - Elmhurst College

Ryan is a Senior at Elmhurst College studying Math Secondary Education and is pursuing a teaching license in both Math and Computer Science Education. At Elmhurst College, he is a part of the Kappa Delta Pi International Education Society and the Elmhurst College Cheerleading Squad.

Kayla Smock - Olivet Nazarene University

Kayla graduated from Olivet Nazarene University in May with a degree in Secondary Mathematics Education. She is from Morton, IL and partners with the Golden Apple Foundation to help her students thrive inside and outside the classroom. Kayla will begin her teaching career at Prairie Central High School in Fairbury, IL.