Excellence in Elementary Mathematics Teaching Award

Guidelines for Nomination

The nominee should meet all of the following requirements:

  1. Be a highly motivated and effective PK-6 school teacher in Illinois whose current assignment must include time teaching mathematics.
  2. Employ a variety of sound teaching strategies and instructional resources.
  3. Participate in professional activities.
  4. Represent the profession with enthusiasm to students, teachers, and parents.

 Past Winners

1988 Jan Brown   1996 Cindy Meinardi
1989 Donna DeMuth   1998 Dorothy Luchtefeld
1990 Shirley King   2006 Thomas R. Lewis
1991 Pamela Samulis   2008 Christina Arney-Thompson
1992 Diane Leib   2010 Lisa J. Bernstein
1993 Linda North   2011 Tina Johnson
1994 Angela Andrews   2014 Denise Brown
1995 Mary Modene   2016 Reggie Duncan
      2018 Kara Sand
      2019 Melissa Wise
      2020 Maria Hull
      2021 Amanda Zimolzak
      2022 Anna Waszak